What? Me, Worry?

Give all your worries and cares to God, because he cares about you. (1 Peter 5:7 NLT)

Worry. We know we shouldn’t, and we know it can damage our health as well as our outlook on life. If you need confirmation on that, check out these websites (http://www.christianpost.com/news/are-you-a-worry-wart-52589/; http://www.webmd.com/balance/guide/how-worrying-affects-your-body) or just Google “effects of worry.”

I have been known to worry. My family is now laughing at this understatement. In fact, my sweet husband often tells me, when I’m in the middle of a state of anxiety, that at least I’ve found what I do well and am doing it with all my heart. Ouch.

I know I’m sensitive. I feel things most do not notice, but too often I allow those feelings to wear me down and erode my faith. It’s as though a pebble of worry gets into a groove of my life.

That’s why these photos, shot at Bailey’s Chute in Wells Gray Park in British Columbia, speak so clearly to me. On our visit there, my husband and I learned that these ciSONY DSCrcular holes in the rock are made by a tiny pebble washed up by the rushing water. The pebble finds an indentation, and the action of the water rolls it around and around, eroding solid rock and creating a deep hole. Unless someone or something plucks out the stone (and it’s much too dangerous here), the hole continues to grow. After a while, that massive rock looks like Swiss cheese, and its strength is destroyed.

You know where I’m going with thi????????s, don’t you? Jesus is the only one who can pluck that pebble of worry out of my life, but I have to allow him access to it.

What is the antidote to worry? Faith, of course. We are told to “take up the shield of faith (Ephesians 6:16), and it will protect us from those abrasive, destructive pebbles.

As Corrie Ten Boom so eloquently said, “Worry does not empty tomorrow of its sorrow. It empties today of its strength.”

Father God, take away all my pebbles of worry, so that I can live in your strength. Amen.

About kathleenefriesen

I’ve always loved music, even before the writing bug hit. Grace notes are little extras, not the actual melody. Just something that adds to the feel of the music. My desire for this blog is to encourage and bless readers, to share a little grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

