How Can I Know God? (Part 1 – Vitality)

004

His (Jesus Christ’s) divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. (2 Peter 1:3)

I must admit, I love my good old Strong’s Concordance. Digging deeper into the meaning of words fascinates me, and Strong’s is my go-to reference for delving into intriguing Bible verses like this. And I love this verse, so much that I’ve chosen it for my verse of 2015.

Why?

My health isn’t the greatest, and I often struggle, especially with lack of energy. So reading that Jesus has already given me everything I need for life, while a wonderful thought, doesn’t exactly resonate when I’m struggling to breathe. Life isn’t much fun then, and I wonder if this is what He intended.

Imagine my surprise when I dug into alternate meanings for the word rendered “life.” The one that jumped out at me? Vitality. Jesus has given us everything we need for vitality – wow!

At the time I discovered this, daily life had become of blur of exhaustion, where walking across the living room required a rest on the couch. Life? Yes. Vitality? No way.

So I grabbed hold of that promise, the assurance that God’s intention is vitality, not a foot-dragging, blurry existence. And I realized that even when my body is uncooperative and I cannot do everything I want to or should, the life that God gives me through Jesus Christ can be a life of vitality. He intends me to be vital.

Like a plant in His garden, God provides everything I need to burst forth in abundant life.

My body is mortal, and some days that fact is plenty obvious, but the life I have in Jesus Christ is eternal – and energetic, invigorating, indispensable, significant, and vibrant.

Just typing those words makes me sit up straighter and breathe deeper. Yes, I want that! I want to exhibit the vitality of a godly life. But how can I do that?

What do you think? How do you tap into God’s vitality?

About kathleenefriesen

I’ve always loved music, even before the writing bug hit. Grace notes are little extras, not the actual melody. Just something that adds to the feel of the music. My desire for this blog is to encourage and bless readers, to share a little grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

